Home About Us Faculty & Departments Staff Students News & Events Contact Us
Go To KNUST Website
Faculty & Departments
Deans of Faculty
Heads of Department
Undergraduate Courses
Postgraduate Courses
Physics is perhaps the most fundamental branch of all the sciences. The science of Physics has since long been divided into Mechanics, Acoustics, Heat, Electricity, Magnetism and Optics. These divisions now form the pillar of all researches into the theories of nature, structure of matter, atomic and nuclear physics.

We have offered courses including Mathematics, Optoelectronics, Quantum Mechanics, Statistical Mechanics, Electromagnetic Theory, Basic Instrumentation and Measurement, Materials Science, Thermodynamics, Atomic Physics, Nuclear Physics, Medical Physics, Geophysics, Electronics, Spectroscopy, Solid State Physics and Environmental Physics since the inception of the department in 1961.

Over the years we have succeeded in realising our sole mission of producing high calibre and competitive physicists who do not only contribute  immensely to the development of the country but also fit very well into the global physics community. The bulk of all physicist produced in the country are from this department as exemplified by the almost 80% Physicists at the Ghana Atomic Energy Commission who trace their roots from here.